2017 Apia International Sydney Odds - WTA Tennis Lines at BetDSI

Home › Sports Betting › Tennis Betting › Apia International Sydney


Apia International Sydney

The Apia International Sydney was first played in 1885, and the 2017 edition will be the 124th for this event. It is a part of the Australian Open Series, which is the run-up to the first Grand Slam of the year, and it is played at the NSW Tennis Centre in Sydney on outdoor hard courts. The Apia Sydney International started on the WTA Tier III level, then moved up to Tier II and now it is a Premier tournament, giving it quite a prestigious level for an early-season tournament.

Go To Tennis Odds

Event Details

Event: WTA – Apia International Sydney

Date: Sunday, January 8th – Friday, January 13th, 2017

Location: NSW Tennis Centre, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

TV: Check local listings

Bet on Apia International Sydney at BetDSI

How To Bet On Women’s Tennis

When you’re betting on tennis, there are two main ways to bet: to predict the outright winner of the tournament and the winner of each individual matchup. Take note of the odds next to each player’s name and if the odds show a minus sign, that’s how much you would bet to win $100. If the odds show a plus sign, that’s the amount you would win if you bet $100. You can also find spread betting options, which allows you to bet on who will win the match and by how much. For example, it could be one player -2.5 games, which means they would have to win by three games or more to cover the spread.

Prize Money and Points Breakdown

The points are the same for singles and doubles, from the winners to the quarterfinals: 470 points, then 305 points, 185 points and 100 points. It is one point for doubles at the round of 16, where it ends, and 55 points for singles, then a point at the round of 32. Then it is 25 points for the final qualifier, 18 ponts for the third qualifier, 13 points for the second qualifier and one point for the first qualifier.

There is no prize money breakdown for this event yet, but it is a Premier tournament with a total prize pool of $710,000.

2017 Confirmed Contestants

Germany's Angelique Kerber kicks off this tournament as the #1 seed, with 2013 champion and Poland's Agnieszka Radwanska coming in as the second seed. Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia will be third, followed by Karolina Pliskova of the Czech Republic, defending champion Svetlana Kuznetsova of Russia, Great Britain's Johanna Konta, Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain and Elina Svitolina of the Ukraine.


Kuznetsova won her first singles title of 2016 with a straight-sets rout of Puerto Rico's Monica Puig. Australia's Margaret Court holds the record for pre-Grand Slam era wins here with eight, while in the Grand Slam era, Martina Navratilova of the United States and Belgium's Justine Henin have both won three times.

For doubles, Martina Hingis of Switzerland and India's Sania Mirza won their second title of 2016 with a straight-sets victory over Kerber and fellow German Andrea Petkovic. It was the second win here for Hingis and Mirza, drawing them level with Americans Navratilova and Pam Shriver.

Bet on Apia International Sydney at BetDSI

Past Winners

Year Champion Runner-Up Score
2016 Svetlana Kuznetsova Monica Puig 6-0, 6-2
2015 Petra Kvitova Karolina Pliskova 7-6 (7-5), 7-6 (8-6)
2014 Tsvetana Pironkova Angelique Keber 6-4, 6-4
2013 Agnieszka Radwanska Dominika Cibulkova 6-0, 6-0
2012 Victoria Azarenka Li Na 6-2, 1-6, 6-3
2016 Martina Hingis - Sania Mirza Caroline Garcia - Kristina Mladenovic 1-6, 7-5, (10-5)
2015 Bethanie Mattek-Sands - Sania Mirza Raquel Kops-Jones - Abigail Spears 6-3, 6-3
2014 Lucie Safarova - Timea Babos Sara Errani - Roberta Vinci 7-5, 3-6, (10-7)
2013 Nadia Petrova - Katarina Srebotnik Sara Errani - Roberta Vinci 6-3, 6-4
2012 Kveta Peschke - Katarina Srebotnik Liezel Huber - Lisa Raymond 6-1, 4-6, (13-11)

Take a look at the current WTA Tennis Betting Odds on the board at Diamond Sportsbook today

Live Lines



Country to Win 2017 Davis Cup

79101 Serbia +450
79102 France +300
79103 Argentina
79104 Great Britain +825
79105 USA +575
79106 Australia +675
79107 Switzerland
79108 Croatia
79109 Spain +450
79110 Czech Republic
79111 Canada
79112 Japan
79113 Italy +1300
79114 Germany
79115 Russia
79116 Belgium +1850


Country to win 2017 Fed Cup

79120 Czech Republic +120
79121 Switzerland +265
79122 USA +275
79123 France
79124 Germany
79125 Spain
79126 Netherlands
79127 Belarus +1600