2017 IndyCar Series Picks - Motor Racing Betting at BetDSI Sportsbook

Home › Sports Betting › Indy Car Betting › Indy Car


IndyCar Series

The 2017 season will be the 22nd in the history of IndyCar, but the United States has a long history in open-wheel racing as it will be the 106th season nationally. The IndyCar Series was the Indy Racing League for the first seven years of its inception from 1996 to 2003, when it was renamed following the merger with CART/Champ Car. There are 17 races on the IndyCar schedule for the 2017 season, including the Indianapolis 500th, which is lauded as the biggest race in American open-wheel racing, and this year will be the 101st running of the event, which is always at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Go To Motor Racing Odds

Event Details

Event: IndyCar Series – 2017 Season

Date: Sunday, March 12th – Sunday, September 17th, 2017

Location: Sixteen tracks across the United States and Canada

TV: Check local listings

About The Track

The IndyCar series will run 17 races at 16 tracks starting in March, and there is one track that has two races: the Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit in June. Eleven of the races will be run on road courses, which have both left and right turns, while six of the events will be run on oval tracks. This includes the Indianapolis 500 as Indianapolis Motor Speedway is more of a rectangle than an oval, but it is definitely not a road course.


The 2016 champion was France's Simon Pagenaud, who scored 659 points to 532 for Australia's Will Power. Brazil's Helio Castroneves was third, followed by Americans Josef Newgarden and Graham Rahal. However, Paganaud was dominant with five wins, including the finale at Sonoma to clinch the title. Pagenaud is the first Frenchman to win the IndyCar title and that makes five years since an American won this championship, which was Ryan Hunter-Reay. Dixon has two titles, along with Power, and Pagenaud has taken the championship from Australia to France. Australia's Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti of the United Kingdom are tied with four championships, while Sam Hornish Jr. of the United States is next with three title wins.

2017 Prediction

The usual suspects will be hanging around, such as Dixon, who finished sixth in his hunt for his fifth championship. Castroneves has won the Indianapolis 500 three times, but he has yet to win the IndyCar title, finishing in the top six of the final standings in 14 of 16 seasons. Pagenaud also has a good chance to defend his title, but his jump from 11th in 2015 to winning in 2016 is still hard to believe. Go with Power, who won in 2014 and only needs to cut out on the poor performances (four finishes of 19th or 20th last year, and he was not cleared to race in the season opener in St. Petersburg due to an ear infection).

Bet on IndyCar Series at BetDSI

2017 IndyCar Series Betting Schedule

  • Date / Tournament / City
  • March 12th / Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg / St. Petersburg, Florida
  • April 9th / Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach / Long Beach, California
  • April 23rd / Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama / Birmingham, Alabama
  • April 29th / Phoenix Grand Prix / Avondale, Arizona
  • May 13th / Grand Prix of Indianapolis / Speedway, Indiana
  • May 28th / 101st Indianapolis 500 / Speedway, Indiana
  • June 3rd-4th / Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Presented by Quicken Loans / Detroit, Michigan
  • June 10th / Firestone 600 / Fort Worth, Texas
  • June 25th / Kohler Grand Prix / Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
  • July 9th / Iowa Corn 300 / Newton, Iowa
  • July 16th / Honda Indy Toronto / Toronto, Ontario
  • July 30th / Honda Indy 200 / Lexington, Ohio
  • August 20th / ABC Supply 500 / Long Pond, Pennsylvania
  • August 26th / St. Louis 250 / Madison, Illinois
  • September 3rd / Grand Prix at The Glen / Watkins Glen, New York
  • September 17th / GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma / Sonoma, California

2017 Drivers & Teams

Takuma Sato (Andretti Autosport)

Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Alexander Rossi (Andretti Herta Autosport)

Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)

Tony Kanaan (Chip Ganassi Racing)

Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)

Sébastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing)

Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing)

J.R. Hildebrand (Ed Carpenter Racing)

Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)

James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)

Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)

Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske)

 Josef Newgarden (Team Penske)

 Hélio Castroneves  (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)

Bet on IndyCar Series at BetDSI

Past Winners (Last Five)

Year Winner Team
2016 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske
2015 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing
2014 Will Power Team Penske
2013 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing
2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport

Check out the latest Indy Car Series Betting Odds at BetDSI Sportsbook