2017 Cycling Betting Odds - UCI World Tour Predictions at BetDSI

Home › Sports Betting › Cycling Betting › Cycling


UCI World Tour

The 2017 season of the UCI (Union Cycliste Internationale) will be the ninth of its kind as this system only began in 2009. The UCI World Tour, which is the highest level of cycling in the world for males, has grown to the point where ten more events were added to go with the 27 events that were run in 2016, making it 37 in all for 2017. Of course, the anchor events of the year are the trio of events that make up the Grand Tour: the Giro d'Italia in May, the Tour de France in July, and the Vuelta a Espana in August/September. Fourteen of the races are single-day events, while the rest have stages, some more than others; for example, the Grand Tour races have 21 stages, while some events have a handful of stages.

Go To Cycling Odds

Event Details

Giro d’Italia: May 5th – May 28th, 2017

Tour de France: July 1st – July 23rd, 2017

Vuelta a Espana: August 19th – September 10th, 2017

UCI World Championships: September 17th – September 24th, 2017

Location: 37 different road courses in Australia, Europe, the Middle East and North America

TV: Check local listings

About The Track

As was mentioned before, the UCI World Tour will add in ten more events to a packed schedule that goes from January to the end of September. Each event is different as some will be relatively flat, while some will have mountains for the riders to navigate and this is where teams come into play as they will help the main rider get through the group.

Bet on Cycling at BetDSI


The 2016 UCI World Tour champion was Slovakia's Peter Sagan, who picked up 669 points to beat Colombia's Nairo Quintana by 60 points. Chris Froome of the United Kingdom was next in third place, followed by the Spanish duo of Alejandro Valverde (who came into the season as the two-time defending champion) and Alberto Contador. It was Sagan's first UCI title as he won three events. The record for the most UCI World Tour titles is three, set by Spain's Joaquim Rodriguez, who won in 2010, 2012 and 2013; he then retired at the end of the 2016 season.

The Grand Tour winners started with the Giro d'Italia, which was won by Italy's Vincenzo Nibali,  who won this event for the second time. Froome won the Tour de France for the third time, managing to defend his title from 2015 (Sagan won three stages and the points classification for the Tour de France). Finally at the Vuelta a Espana, Quintana won for the first time.

2017 Prediction

Sagan has long been thought of one of the best up-and-comers on the world cycling scene, and now, he has arrived with a championship. However, one of the hardest aspects of being a champion is having to repeat, and Sagan might feel some pressure. Go with Quintana, who also finished with three wins last season and won his second Grand Tour event at the Vuelta a Espana, which goes with his Giro d'Italia win from 2014 (he has also finished second, second and third in three of the last four years at the Tour de France). Go with Colombia's Nairo Quintana to take the 2017 title.

Bet on Cycling at BetDSI

Past Winners

Year Winner Team
2016 Peter Sagan Tinkoff
2015 Alejandro Valverde Movistar Team
2014 Alejandro Valverde Movistar Team
2013 Joaquim Rodriguez Team Katusha
2012 Joaquim Rodriguez Team Katusha

Take a look at the current Cycling Betting Odds on the board at Diamond Sportsbook