2017 Cricket Betting Lines - Bet on Cricket at BetDSI Sportsbook

Home › Sports Betting › Cricket Betting › Cricket



The sport of cricket has been around for well over a century and the first international cricket match happened way back in 1844 between the United States and Canada, while the first Test match was in 1877 between England and Australia. Cricket was even in the Summer Olympics once, back in 1900, when Great Britain for the gold. However, the ICC didn’t begin what we now know as the Cricket World Cup until 1975, and it was hosted by England, who hosted the first three editions (although Wales co-hosted in the third tournament in 1983).

Go To Cricket Odds

The Cricket World Cup takes place every four years and has never missed an edition, although there were five years between the 1987 and 1992 tournaments, and three years between the 1996 and 1999 tournaments. There are seven countries that have never missed a Cricket World Cup: Australia, India, the West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand.

How To Bet On Cricket World Cup

Your first rule when it comes to betting on the Cricket World Cup is understanding the sport of cricket, which for some North American bettors, might be one of the most complex sports out there. Not to worry, though. It’s much easier than you think. When it comes to simply betting on the sport, you’ll be dealing with moneyline betting, which pits two teams against each other. The moneyline only deals with who wins and who loses; no margin of victory.

One team will be named the favorite (as shown with a negative sign before their odds) and the other will be the underdog (which will have a positive sign before their odds). So, you could have a matchup where the favorite has odds of -170, and the underdog is sitting at +150. When there is a minus sign (or when you’re betting the favorite), you would need to bet $170 to win $100 on the favorite.

On the other hand, when you bet on the odds with the plus sign in front (otherwise known as the underdog), your $100 bet would earn you $150. Obviously, you don’t have to bet in these increments but these are just basic rations to make it easy for everyone to understand.

While that explains the matchup betting, there is also longer term bets that can be placed. Those are called futures, which are the odds for events that will be decided later down the road. For example, you can bet on each team’s chances to win the Cricket World Cup. These bets offer a much bigger payout but remember that your money is tied up long as it takes a while to decide a winner.


The most recent champion of the Cricket World Cup is India, who won their second tournament and first since 1983 when they defeated Sri Lanka, who finished in the runner-up position for the second successive Cricket World Cup. Australia still leads the way with four wins at the event, including three in a row in 1999, 2003 and 2007. England has the most runner-up finishes with three, although none since 1992, while Australia and Sri Lanka have two second-place finishes each. All ten champions of the Cricket World Cup are countries that have participated in all ten editions of the tournament.

Bet on Cricket at BetDSI

Past Cricket World Cup Champions

Year Host Winner Runner-Up
1975 England West Indies Australia
1979 England West Indies England
1983 England/Wales India West Indies
1987 India/Pakistan Australia England
1992 Australia/New Zealand Pakistan England
1996 Pakistan/India/Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Australia
1999 England/Wales/Scotland Australia Pakistan
2003 South Africa/Zimbabwe/Kenya Australia India
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India/Sri Lanka/Bangladesh India Sri Lanka

Bet on Cricket at BetDSI

Upcoming Cricket Events

2015: Australia and New Zealand will co-host the Cricket World Cup

2019: England and Wales will co-host the Cricket World Cup

2023: India will host the Cricket World Cup

Take a look at the latest Cricket Betting Odds available right now at Diamond Sportsbook