2016-2017 George Washington Colonials Lines - Basketball Odds at BetDSI

Home › NCAA Odds › NCAA Articles › George Washington Colonials

2016-2017-George-Washington-Colonials-NCAA-Basketball-Odds-at-BetDSI-Sportsbook

George Washington Colonials

The George Washington Colonials are coming off one of those seasons that was technically successful but only if you consider winning the NIT a success. The Colonials were thought of as a team that could make the NCAA Tournament but they were left out and had to settle for the NIT. The Colonials did really well in the NIT and ended up winning the tournament but the big dance is where they wanted to be.

George Washington has the potential to do well in 2016-2017. The Colonials have Tyler Cavanaugh back as he averaged 16.8 points and 7.6 rebounds per game last season.  Cavanaugh will need to have a big season because the team doesn’t have nearly as much depth as they did last year as they lost seven players who averaged at least 10 minutes per game. The big loss is Patrico Garino who averaged 14.1 points per game. He will be tough to replace as will Kevin Larsen who averaged 12.3 points per game.

Go To NCAA Basketball Odds

2016-2017 NCAA Championship Odds: 1000-1

2015-2016 Record:  28-10, 11-7 Atlantic 10

2015-2016 Postseason:  NIT

2016-2017 George Washington Colonials Betting

The Colonials have added Jaren Sina from Seton Hall and Patrick Steeves from Harvard.  Sina averaged 7 points per game with Seton Hall while Steeves averaged 9.1 points per game last season for Harvard. George Washington has some freshmen who could see playing time including 6-9 forward Kevin Marfo.

George Washington does return Yuta Watanabe who averaged 8.4 points per game. He should get one of the starting spots in the backcourt along with Sina. The Colonials could go with a three-guard lineup and put Steeves in the starting lineup.

Bet on George Washington Colonials at BetDSI

2015 George Washington Colonials Betting Statistics

ATS
OVERALL HOME AWAY
18-16-1 9-6-1 6-7-0
O/U
OVERALL HOME AWAY
19-16-0 9-7-0 7-6-0

George Washington Colonials Team Leaders

Player Numbers
Points Tyler Cavanaugh 16.8
Assists Joe McDonald 3.1
Rebounds Kevin Larsen 8.2
FG % Patricio Garino 51.0
Steals Patricio Garino 1.4
Blocks Yuta Watanabe 1.1

George Washington Colonials Offense

Season Stats Rank
Points / G 75.7 117
Field Goal % 44.7 142
3 Point % 37.1 64
Free Throw % 75.3 17
Rebounds / G 37.9 84

George Washington Colonials Defense

Season Stats Rank
Points / G 68.5 88
Field Goal % 42.8 133
3 Point % 33.0 89
Free Throw % 72.2 297
Rebounds / G 29.8 56

Bet on George Washington Colonials at BetDSI

2016-2017 Projected Starting Lineup

Jaren Sina, Guard

Yuta Wantanabe, Guard

Patrick Steeves, Guard

Kevin Marfo, Forward

Tyler Cavanaugh, Forward

George Washington Colonials Picks

The Colonials are going to be good this season as they have Cavanaugh to lead them and a decent supporting cast around him. The question for George Washington is depth as there are not a lot of answers beyond the top five players.

George Washington probably deserved an NCAA Tournament bid last season and missed out. It will be very difficult for the team to win as many games as they did a year ago so they will probably need to win the Atlantic 10 Tournament to make the NCAA Tournament this season.

Bet on George Washington Colonials at BetDSI

2016-2017 George Washington Colonials Regular Season Schedule

  • Friday, Nov. 11 vs. UMES
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15 vs. Siena
  • Thursday, Nov. 17 vs. Arkansas Pine Bluff
  • Monday, Nov. 21 vs. Georgia – Kansas City
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22 vs. Kansas or UAB – Kansas City
  • Saturday, Nov. 26 vs. Penn State
  • Saturday, Dec. 3 vs. USF
  • Sunday, Dec. 4 vs. Florida State
  • Wednesday, Dec. 7 at Temple
  • Saturday, Dec. 10 vs. Howard
  • Thursday, Dec. 15 vs. UCF
  • Thursday, Dec. 22 at Miami
  • Friday, Dec. 30 at Saint Joseph's
  • Thursday, Jan. 5 vs. Davidson
  • Sunday, Jan. 8 vs. Richmond
  • Wednesday, Jan. 11 at VCU
  • Sunday, Jan. 15 at La Salle
  • Wednesday, Jan. 18 vs. Duquesne
  • Wednesday, Jan. 25 at George Mason
  • Saturday, Jan. 28 vs. Saint Louis
  • Tuesday, Jan. 31 at Rhode Island
  • Saturday, Feb. 4 at Richmond
  • Wednesday, Feb. 8 vs. VCU
  • Saturday, Feb. 11 vs. St. Bonaventure
  • Wednesday, Feb. 15 at Davidson
  • Sunday, Feb. 19 at Duquesne
  • Thursday, Feb. 23 Massachusetts
  • Sunday, Feb. 26 vs. George Mason
  • Wednesday, March 1 at Fordham
  • Saturday, March 4 vs. Dayton

Make sure to check out the latest NCAA Basketball Picks at BetDSI Sportsbook

AVAILABLE COLLEGE BASKETBALL BETTING INFORMATION:
AVAILABLE BASKETBALL BETTING OPTIONS: