2017 Triple Crown Horse Racing Odds - Racebook Lines at BetDSI

HomeSports BettingHorse Racing Betting › Triple Crown


Triple Crown

The Triple Crown in horse racing features the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. The Kentucky Derby is held the first Saturday in May and is followed two weeks later by the Preakness Stakes while the Belmont Stakes follows three weeks after the Preakness. There is always a great deal of excitement in Triple Crown betting and the Triple Crown drought was finally broken in 2016 when American Pharoah won the Triple Crown for the first time since Affirmed in 1978.

Go To Horse Racing Odds

Triple Crown Races

The first race in the Triple Crown is the Kentucky Derby in early May. The 2017 Kentucky Derby will be held at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky on Saturday, May 6th, 2017 at a mile and a quarter on the dirt. The Preakness Stakes is run two weeks later at a mile and 3/16th at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland and will be held on Saturday, May 20th, 2017. The Belmont Stakes is held at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York at a mile and a half and in 2017 it will be held on Saturday, June 10th, 2017.

Triple Crown Odds

The option to bet a horse to win the Triple Crown is on the board at Diamond sportsbook before the Kentucky Derby when the odds are huge, after the Kentucky Derby when there is one horse still alive, and potentially still on the board after the Preakness Stakes when the odds will be much lower.

American Pharoah Ends Triple Crown Drought

American Pharoah finally did something in 2015 that had not been done since Affirmed in 1978 and that is win the Triple Crown. It is difficult for a horse to win three races in the span of five weeks especially when horses are not conditioned to run that many times in five weeks but it was done in 2015 when American Pharoah won all three races. There have only been 12 horses that have ever won the Triple Crown.

Bet on 2017 Triple Crown at BetDSI

Past Triple Crown Winners

1919 – Sir Barton

1930 – Gallant Fox

1935 – Omaha

1937 – War Admiral

1941 – Whirlaway

1943 – Count Fleet

1946 – Assault

1948 – Citation

1973 – Secretariat

1977 – Seattle Slew

1978 – Affirmed

2015 – American Pharoah

Bet on 2017 Triple Crown at BetDSI

Kentucky Derby and Preakness Winners who Failed in the Belmont

1932 – Burgoo King

1936 – Bold Venture

1944 – Pensive

1958 – Tim Tam

1961 – Carry Back

1964 – Northern Dancer

1966 – Kauai King

1968 – Forward Pass

1969 – Majestic Prince

1971 – Canonero II

1979 – Spectacular Bid

1981 – Pleasant Colony

1987 – Alysheba

1989 – Sunday Silence

1997 – Silver Charm

1998 – Real Quiet

1999 – Charismatic

2002 – War Emblem

2003 – Funny Cide

2004 – Smarty Jones

2008 – Big Brown

2012 – I'll Have Another

2014 – California Chrome

Check out the latest Horse Racing Betting Odds at BetDSI Sportsbook