NHL Odds - New Divisions and New Matchups on 2013-2014 NHL Schedule

  • Tuesday, July 23rd, 2013

    By  Blade Armstrong

    NHL Odds

    NHL Predictions: When you look at the NHL standings for the 2013-2014 season they will look a lot different with four new divisions. The Western Conference will have the Pacific and Central Divisions of seven teams each while the Eastern Conference will have the Atlantic and Metropolitan Divisions with eight teams each.

    The 2013-2014 NHL schedule begins with three games on October 1st including the defending Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks hosting the Washington Capitals. The regular seasons will conclude on April 13, 2014 with the Stanley Cup playoffs beginning on April 16th.

    Let’s take a look at some of the 2013-2014 NHL schedule highlights.

    NHL Schedule Notes

    When you talk about the changes for 2013-2014 you have to start with the new divisions. The Metropolitan Division will have the Pittsburgh Penguins, Philadelphia Flyers, Washington Capitals, New York Rangers, New York Islanders, New Jersey Devils, Carolina Hurricanes and Columbus Blue Jackets.

    The Atlantic Division will have the Montreal Canadiens, Buffalo Sabres, Toronto Maple Leafs, Ottawa Senators, Detroit Red Wings, Boston Bruins, Tampa Bay Lightning and Florida Panthers.

    The Central Division has the Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Winnipeg Jets, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators and St. Louis Blues.

    The Pacific Division has the Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks and Vancouver Canucks.

    Also worth noting is with the 2013-2014 NHL schedule is the Olympic break. Teams will be off for 2.5 weeks from February 9th through the 26th due to the Winter Olympics in Russia.

    The Winter Classic will be played at Michigan Stadium on New Year’s Day with the Toronto Maple Leafs taking on the Detroit Red Wings. The Stadium Series will have the Anaheim Ducks and Los Angeles Kings playing at Dodger Stadium, the New York Rangers will play the New Jersey Devils and New York Islanders and Yankee Stadium and the Pittsburgh Penguins and Chicago Blackhawks will play at Soldier Field. The Heritage Classic will be in Vancouver as the Canucks host the Ottawa Senators.

    Every team in the NHL will play each other home and away this season. The top three teams in each division make the playoffs along with two wild card teams in each conference for a total of 16 playoff teams. NBC will be televising 13 regular season games while the NBC Sports Network has 90 games.

    Keep current with the latest NHL odds at BetDSI sportsbook.